WYANDANCH UNION FREE SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL DISTRICT MEETING 2021 BUDGET VOTE & SCHOOL BOARD ELECTION HELD ON TUESDAY, MAY 18, 2021 WYANDANCH MEMORIAL HIGH SCHOOL 54 SOUTH 32nd STREET WYANDANCH, NEW YORK 11798

Christian D. Code, District Clerk, arrived at 5:30 AM. Poll Inspectors and Chairperson arrived by 6:00 AM. Poll inspectors present: Rutha Bush, Chairperson, Eileen Watson, Chief Inspector, Virginia Dawson-Taylor, Carrie King, Debbie Allen, Heath Broughton, Michael Rivera, Adriana Indiana Bumpers, Florence Collins, Kathy Corbin, Hakim El-Quhir, Laurie Farber, Brenda Moore, Renee Lewis. Lisa Hutchinson, Esq., General Counsel, arrived at 6:40 AM. At 6:42 AM, the District Clerk administered the oath of office to the poll inspectors and the Chairperson. Joe Lombardi, the custodian from Suffolk County Board of Elections, arrived at 6:30 AM.

Voting Machine #1 (#B303) was unlocked at 6:52 a.m. by the custodian, and observed by Chairperson, Chief Inspector, General Counsel, District Clerk and poll inspectors. The Certification Tape verified that all candidate vote totals were at zero. The custodian verified, with all observing, that the basket within the voting machine was empty, and the voting machine was sealed. The Protective counter was at 1614.

Voting Machine #2 (#T1042) was unlocked at 6:55 a.m. by the custodian, and observed by Chairperson, Chief Inspector, General Counsel, District Clerk and poll inspectors. The Opening Certification Tape verified that all candidate vote totals were at zero, was signed by the Chairperson and Chief Inspector and given to the District Clerk. The custodian verified, with all observing, that the basket within the voting machine was empty, and the voting machine was sealed. The Protective counter was at 2286.

The polls were declared open by Chairperson Bush at 7:00 AM sharp.

Voting continued throughout the day with some incidents: District Clerk received complaints regarding signage within the 100 feet. District Clerk contacted legal counsel and it was determined that signage needed to be moved. Candidates were informed and signage was moved. One Poll Inspector, after multiple conversations and placements by the chair and chief inspector, left without notice around 1pm, effectively ending their service for the day. There were a few jams in the machine, however, the custodian was present to correct the issue and legal counsel, the chair, chief inspector and District Clerk were present during each jam to ensure that the machine was clear, functional and that voters could vote.

The custodian came and went several times throughout the day, and was available by phone if needed.

Voting continued throughout the day without further incident.

Rutha Bush, Chairperson, declared the polls closed at 9:00 PM. There was no one remaining to vote.

After a brief reset of the room, at 9:20 PM the doors were opened for the candidates, board members, superintendent and cabinet members. Voting results from Machine #1 were announced by Chairperson Bush at 9:25 PM. Voting results from Machine #2 were announced by Chairperson, with the assistance of the District Clerk, at 9:30 PM. Absentee ballots were opened, read and counted by the Chief Inspector at 9:35 PM, with the District Clerk and the Attorney confirming the tabulation. Ballot boxes were emptied by the custodian and observed by the Chairperson, Chief Inspector, Attorney and District Clerk. Ballots, closing voting machine tapes, memory cards and seals were turned over to the District Clerk by the custodian.

At 10:20 p.m., the Chairperson with the District Clerk declared the following results:

Proposition #1 (2021-2022 Budget) was carried.

Vote	<u>YES</u>	<u>NO</u>
<u>TOTALS</u>	290	116

Trustee elected to fill the vacancy of Shirley Baker, 3-year term ending June 30, 2024:

Shirley Baker, Incumbent		with	219 votes
Other Candidates Robert Johnson III Gerren Nixon	with	with	103 votes 92 votes

Trustee elected to fill the vacancy of Ronald Fenwick, 3-year term ending June 30, 2024:

Nancy Holliday	with	179 votes
Other Candidates		
Ronald Fenwick	with	115 votes
Samantha Lawson	with	115 votes

Trustee elected to fill the vacancy of Charlie B. Reed, 3-year term ending June 30, 2024:

Charlie B. Reed, Incumbent	with	212 votes
Other Candidates Helisse D. Palmore	with	182 votes

The Annual District Meeting was adjourned at 10:25 PM.

Minutes Recorded and Transcribed By District Clerk

Date of Meeting: Tuesday, May 18, 2021 ANNUAL DISTRICT MEETING

Christian D. Code